PDA

View Full Version : help bino decide on a notebook :p

AlbinoFury
Sun, 08-22-2004, 09:40 PM
ok people ive decided that i need a second computer, and well i have a desktop so i want a laptop, im a poor college student and i dont want all those bells and whistles i just want some power on the go and for class and such. Mainly what ill use it for is (of course) photoshop, dreamweaver, some gaming on the go, mostly blizzard games, and downloadin and watchin anime. So heres the 2 possible systems im pondering.

Compaq 2100Z
14.1" screen
AMD XP-m+ 2800
512 ddr ram
30 gb hd
dvd rom
XP or linux (havent decided yet)
priced at $854 no tax, free shipping

or

Apple ibook 12" G4
1 ghz G4
256 ddr SDram
combo drive
30gb hd
OSX
priced at $999(god bless student discounts) plus tax of about 60 bucks maybe

lemme know folks i value all of your opinions

Assertn
Sun, 08-22-2004, 10:10 PM
the compaq sounds alot more enticing to me

(however, if you asked that 2 weeks ago, i wouldve said the Toshiba 15" screen w/ intel celeron 2.8 ghz, 512 mb ddr ram, 60 gig drive, dvd/cdrw drive, and 802.11g wireless, a printer, and a carrying case for $700 after rebates at best buy is even better)

i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif

Knives122
Sun, 08-22-2004, 10:22 PM
get the compaq hands down thats the better of the two

Lefty
Sun, 08-22-2004, 10:28 PM
I suggest you buy the PC. If your going to play video games then the Mac sorry to say is limited in that department. Granted you would get more bang for your buck with the Mac and better graphics processing. I'm an avid Mac user I own two Mac's a G5 and a 17" G4 laptop. They are very good computers but the G4 laptop's have a minor problem of getting hot enought to mildly burn you thighs if your not wearing cloths. But it also comes down to prefrence and whats it going to be used for. Good luck though.

AlbinoFury
Sun, 08-22-2004, 10:44 PM