PDA

View Full Version : How to cahnge port or set port??

Diospada
Sat, 06-26-2004, 12:53 AM
I'm getting slow d/ls from each and every torrent i d/l usually get bout 25kb/s but now getting only 1or 2 kb/s. Saw on the bt site that by setting port or opening them, you can get faster d/ls or run bt more effeciently.
Can anyone teach me how to do this and is there any dangers if i open ports.
Sorry if i have to trouble you all cos i'm a noob when it comes to these things.....

NM
Sat, 06-26-2004, 07:57 AM
To open your ports, you have to go to your router's admin page. I think for most routers, you just type your IP address and it should take you there. Then once your there, you should be able to open up your ports. The ports you have to route through are 6881-6999. And dont worry, there is no danger in opening up these ports for BT.

Diospada
Sat, 06-26-2004, 01:17 PM
How do i go my router's main page?
Can you give me a detail step by step on this cos i not familiar with all these things?
If you are able to help it would be a million thanks

stos289
Sat, 06-26-2004, 06:43 PM
If you could give me the type of router you have (D-Link, Linksys, etc.) and the model number of the router, then I can give you a step by step guide on how to forward your ports. Hope I can help.

NM
Sat, 06-26-2004, 07:30 PM
Oh yeah, sorry about that. I forgot that it depends on what type of router you have to access its admin page. But yeah, do what stos289 said and he can give ya a really good tutorial.

Diospada
Sat, 06-26-2004, 09:41 PM
Thats gonna be a prob cos i dunno really know what i'm using as a router or its model or worse still do i have a router?
Any ways for me to check what router i'm using or its model??

stos289
Sat, 06-26-2004, 10:06 PM