PDA

View Full Version : Applying for a Job?

JessiA
Fri, 03-12-2004, 01:11 PM
I've been searching and searching everywhere for a new job, while working at my current part-time job. Everywhere I apply, I make sure that the place I'm intrested is actually hiring before faxing over my resume, or contacting them.

Today, at work, I pick up the phone.
Girl: "Uhm, hello? Is your manager or boss there?"
Me: "Yes they are. May I ask who's calling."
Girl: *gives her name*
Me: "Oh, I see, are you looking to a book a date for your wedding?" I work in the wedding industry.
Girl: "Uhm, no. I sent them a resume from Winsconsin a couple months back, and I was wanting to talk to them."
*uncomfortable silence*
Me: "Hold on, let me get one of them on the line for you."
I hit "Hold"
Me: "This girl sent in a resume from Winsconsin a while back, and wants to talk with you."
Boss 1: "Well, should I get this, or do you wanna talk to her honey?" Boss 1 and Boss 2 are married.
Boss 2: "Well, we're not hiring right now, so..."
Boss 1: *picks up the phone* "Yes, hello. Yes, I did get it, and looked over it. Unfortuneatly, we're not hiring right now. Uh huh, we're kind of a one-man business, you know?"
*hangs up*

PLEASE don't tell me any of you guys apply at a place before actually checking to make sure that that place is ACTUALLY hiring.

Mut
Fri, 03-12-2004, 04:07 PM
everytime i've asked them if they are hiring it's usually a "no, we're not hiring but you can still turn your application in and we will contact you when we're hiring again"

that means "no, leave."

yeah, don't bother applying unless you know for sure that they are hiring.

Gods_Son
Fri, 03-12-2004, 05:31 PM
Or if your tight with a store owner somewhere, they'll usually let you get a job with them. What's wrong with working the phone at a wedding industry, sounds easy. I'll call your work number and ask you to marry me some time.

Wilik
Fri, 03-12-2004, 11:31 PM