PDA

View Full Version : Display Problem in a MAC with Leopard OS

RyougaZell
Mon, 01-17-2011, 06:36 PM
So my boss asked me today to check if I could find if his current problem was hardware based or software based.

I have Zero experience with Macs so I had to resort to google with no luck.

So far I haven't found anyone with a similar problem be either through a failed display or software caused via installing something or via hotkeys or whatever.

Whenever my boss opens applications like Quicktime or even just photos, the image appears distorted in matricial squares. The funny thing is that his desktop remains untouched while half of his icon bar appears distorted as well (this makes us believe its software based).

Whenever he uses applications like Firefox the problem doesn't present itself.

Any suggestions on what can I check?

I'm attaching both photos he took of his display.

A friend told me it could be the video-card, but I'd also like more input from you guys before telling my boss.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v241/RyougaZell/DSCN0832.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v241/RyougaZell/DSCN0834.jpg

David75
Tue, 01-18-2011, 01:10 AM
Should I have time before someonelse finds an answer I'll try to.

For the moment, it's not possible to decide wether it's hardware/software, because:
-If it's hardware, it can be a sub component, that derails only under some function calls.
-If it's software, it derails only under some function calls... too.

is the video car replacable in that mac and is there a mac with same video card around to swap?
What were the last soft installed? could it be related?

I'd search for CheckBoard image video problem in Google, not mentionning the mac at first, as it might be a common nvidia problem (I think macs are mostly nvidia)

Edit: After searching for 10 minutes, seems like a soldering/heat problem. Could be more of a hardware