PDA

View Full Version : What do you do for a living?

Archangel
Mon, 03-15-2010, 06:33 PM
"A profession is a vocation founded upon specialized educational training, the purpose of which is to supply disinterested counsel and service to others, for a direct and definite compensation, wholly apart from expectation of other business gain"
So how do you service others?

I'm a college student and am currently getting my degree in civil engineering (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Civil_engineering)

Buffalobiian
Mon, 03-15-2010, 07:11 PM
Full time pharmacy (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pharmacy) degree student. Part time pizza boy.

shinta|hikari
Mon, 03-15-2010, 07:32 PM
Full time business analyst and software quality tester. I do teach Japanese part time, but for free.

Assertn
Mon, 03-15-2010, 07:34 PM
Co-owner of a startup tech company. Lead front-end developer in flash/flex technologies.

Ryllharu
Mon, 03-15-2010, 08:07 PM
Quality assurance at a subsidiary of a defense contractor. Less actual engineering (B.S. ME), but a considerably more diverse scope of work.

shinta|hikari
Mon, 03-15-2010, 08:13 PM
I plan to open up my own restaurant though, when I save up enough capital and find capable co-owners.

darkshadow
Mon, 03-15-2010, 08:56 PM
Full time Gamedesign (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_design) & Development (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_development) student, 3rd year now. Should be done after 1.5 years more.
After this I should qualify as a Game Designer (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_designer) and Game Artist (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_artist) (art technical engineer).

I have an affinity for coding, but I really didn't feel anything for becoming a programmer (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_programmer).

Steve, posts some links to your stuff? I mean I've seen it, but I doubt the rest here know what product you actually offer ;P.

And shinta free japanese lessons? Do you do e-lessons <_<... ?

XanBcoo
Mon, 03-15-2010, 08:58 PM