PDA

View Full Version : question

tha_seeker
Fri, 01-20-2006, 02:31 AM
Hello to everyone, newbie here!!!
I have a question that I've meant to ask,...I have long wondered why some characters in anime mainly Kisame of Naruto or Ichigo in Bleach have swords wrapped in bandages, is there some special purpose that I am not privy of???

Kensee
Fri, 01-20-2006, 02:58 AM
style pretty much. Not always wrapped in bandage, just beats carrying arund a sheath i suppose.

bagandscalpel
Fri, 01-20-2006, 03:46 AM
Well, Kensee is right about the sheath.

Although, that's only due to the swords themselves. After all, there's no drawing a sword from a sheath longer than the length of the user's arm. And in the case of the Samehada, Kisame would be hardpressed to find a sheath capable of withstanding the roughness of his sword.

Necromas
Sun, 01-22-2006, 02:24 AM
Originally posted by: bagandscalpel
Well, Kensee is right about the sheath.

Although, that's only due to the swords themselves. After all, there's no drawing a sword from a sheath longer than the length of the user's arm. And in the case of the Samehada, Kisame would be hardpressed to find a sheath capable of withstanding the roughness of his sword.

And, for Kisama, it hides the special properties of his weapon, giving him an advantage if he misleads the opponent with an easy to block attack and they clasp the sword inbetween their palms. But it must be pretty inconvenient to have to wrap up your sword after every fight.

Also, Sanosuke from Kenshin wrapped his sword in bandages.

darkmetal505
Sun, 01-22-2006, 12:37 PM
Originally posted by: tha_seeker
Hello to everyone, newbie here!!!
I have a question that I've meant to ask,...I have long wondered why some characters in anime mainly Kisame of Naruto or Ichigo in Bleach have swords wrapped in bandages, is there some special purpose that I am not privy of???

because it makes them look like a pimp

reesaroni
Mon, 01-23-2006, 07:29 PM
Originally posted by: darkmetal505