PDA

View Full Version : BitTorrent Clients

Board of Command
Wed, 01-11-2006, 10:32 PM
I've been using Azureus for well over two years and have grown accustomed to it. Even though it's an enormous memory hog due to it being Java-based, I've stuck with it due to its great interface and features. Well, I've just had enough of its memory issues that I decided to try something new.

Yesterday I discovered. utorrent (http://www.utorrent.com/). Up to this point I have really neglected every other client out there thinking Azureus is superior regardless of others have to offer. utorrent is a fairly new and low-profile client that has been overshadowed by the likes of BitComet, ABC, and of course, the king of the BitTorrent world: Azureus. I just loaded up a torrent in utorrent, and wow, to my surprise they literally stole the interface from Azureus.

I'm not saying that's a bad thing, because I like it. One of the big reasons for keeping Azureus is that I don't want to switch to a new interface. Well with utorrent's plagiarism I don't need to adapt to a whole new GUI. So far I'm very, very impressed with utorrent's functionality combined with a rather simple design. The best part of all: the entire program is 140 kb and uses only 13 mb of memory when downloading at full speed (300 kb/s for me). That, in my opinion, is truly phenomenal.

I think I finally found a solution to Azureus's fundamental flaw. I think if more people would just give this a try, utorrent could really top Azureus as THE client to use for torrenting. This program is simply fantastic. I've gone through ABC, BitTornado and BitComet before jumping on the Azureus bandwagon, and none of those are nearly impressive as this. If you haven't tried utorrent, you ought to do it because you won't believe it until you see it. I sure didn't.

Assassin
Wed, 01-11-2006, 10:40 PM
how does it compare to BitTornado?

LaZie
Wed, 01-11-2006, 10:56 PM
I use BitLord i/expressions/face-icon-small-tongue.gif

anphorus