PDA

View Full Version : The Best Buy Thread

Deadfire
Sat, 11-19-2005, 12:25 AM
I'm starting this thread to allow the "Today I learned thread" a break from us

As I'm still enployed by them as a Computer Tech I will have many stories but most look like this

Originally posted by: Deadfire
I learned today that EB over sold about 3000 pre-orders for the X-box 360 here in Canada... thats going to be 3000 MAD PEOPLE!!!!! come Nov. 22

Good thing my work (read above) hasn't and will have lots to sell

I also learned that the new X-box has only a 90 day warrenty on it.... this equals a huge problem I'm going to run in to about 91 days after it will go something like this

Random Person: My X-box broke can you fix it
Myself: Yes I can, but do you have a extended warrenty or a PRP (Best buy's Performance Replacement Plan it equals the fact I go to the media department and give him a new X-Box once his breaks)

RP: No I never buy those things, they are a joke a idiot buys them
me: well sir, It's over the 90 warrenty mark so I do need to charge you for the repairs

RP: WHAT!!!! thats not right noone said it had only a 90 day warrently
Me: Someone told you when you bought it, it's printed on the price tag, it's printed 3 times on the box, twice inside the box and you need to register online for this 90 day warrenty because it tells you it is only that long

RP: well, I didn't know!
Me: Really?....(Can you frecken READ!)

RP: so I demand you fix it for Free
Me; Sir, I'm paid to work on units that are paid for..I don't work for free, now if you don't want to pay for these repairs you could either buy a new one or find a person to fix high end electronics for you (Jesus comes to mind)

RP: well it shouldn't have broke you guys sold me a bad console i want a new one for free.