PDA

View Full Version : 2 months over

Death BOO Z
Tue, 10-04-2005, 06:55 PM
It's been a bit more than two months since I've joined the army, but I feel that during this short time I've done much more than in my entire high school years.

I'll start, of course, in the beginning.
As a citizen of the state of Israel, I'm required at age 17 to make my first step into the army recruitment base, there they do some medical tests and some other stuff, which later determinate whether I'm fit to service or not, and if I am, then at which unit.

A year later, after finishing high school and all the final exams, the army comes for you again, this time, you don't get by so easily, this time, it's for real.
At the 31 of July, 2005, I've set foot in the recruitment base, where I've been given uniforms, army boots, a dog tag and a number. At this point, I'm a soldier, instead of an I.D card, I have a soldier verification document. That sums everything up.

I spent that night in the base, together with another 300 teenagers, who are all in the same situation as I am, and most of us were destined to reach the same spot.

The 2nd day has only now began, and we were already loaded into the buses, away from the big city of Tel-Aviv, and onto the desert base known as BISLASH (in Hebrew, an acronym for armored vehicles school), which for the past two months (and the next two as well), will be referred to as The Base.

It's quite impossible to describe all that happens, it's like packing your whole life experiences: your family, your friends, your mentors, your daily schedule, all into two months.